RSS

Service Review – Domain Registrar – Hover

31 Mar

When I first registered ValueCanuck.com more than ten years ago, I wanted to use a Canadian domain registrar that was trustworthy and reasonably priced. As usual, I was not looking for just the lowest price, but the best value. Even that long ago there were plenty of domain registrars to choose from, but I didn’t want to go with some fly-by-night organization that would fold on me after a couple of years. I did my research and I found Domain Direct, a domain registrar owned by Tucows, a Canadian internet pioneer.

What I liked about Domain Direct at the time was that they were Canadian, they were affiliated with a well-known company, they offered a solid suite of domain registration and related services which were all reasonably priced. Well, after buying two other domain registration companies and combining and rebranding them all at Hover.com, I am happy to say all the reasons I chose them in the first place still apply.

Hover offers domain registration services for .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz, .us, and .ca domains (.tv coming soon). All domain registrations come with domain forwarding (allows you point your domain to any web page you want), sub-domain forwarding, advanced domain name service management, and WhoIs privacy (allows you to register the domain without publicising your address). Although other domain registrars have lower advertised prices, not all of this stuff is normally included for free.

Hover also offers optional hosted email services with webmail, POP, and IMAP access. Finally, the takeover of NetIdentity brought thousands of surname domains into the fold that allow Hover to offer personal name email addresses like jack@bauer.net, james@kirk.net, sidney@crosby.net and many others.

In the 10 years I have been a customer of Domain Direct and Hover I have been very happy with the quality of the services and the value I have received for my money. I have found Hover’s customer service to be responsive and I like the fact that there is a toll-free number to call when email won’t do. Finally, I like the fact that I am not being bombarded with “offers” to upsell me into more services. I now have three domain names registered with Hover and I am happy customer.

If you are in the market for a new domain name, I would definitely suggest you check them out. Clicking on the logo above or the link below will make a two dollar discount available to new Hover customers (let me know if it works for new domains purchased by existing customers).

https://www.hover.com/valuecanuck

More reviews coming soon…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2010 in Service Reviews

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Service Review – Domain Registrar – Hover

  1. Justin

    July 30, 2010 at 4:33 PM

    Hover really is an awesome service. I’m an American, but, because of my wonderful experiences with Hover, I definitely prefer the Canadian ways of thinking in regards to domains and email opposed to those of their American counterparts.

    Tucows Inc. and Hover customer and fan for life!

     
  2. sihatley

    October 8, 2013 at 7:52 PM

    “It better represents you. It’s easier to communicate. You never need to change it. Plus, you can use it with whatever email program you prefer. We can help.”

    What a bold, misleading and inaccurate statement found on hover web site.

    I have used an email account for me and my family for nearly 15 years. Out of nowhere email telling me no longer available and in 9 weeks you will not be able to use the domain. Tough 5hit basically. Read our t&cs . You have no rights we can terminate the contract when we want nothing you can do about it.

    Each subsequent provider Mailbank, Netidentity, Tucows and now Hover have been less and less competent but I still renew every year.

    Today I receive an email telling me I have 63 days to leave as my email addresses are going to be cancelled. A joke I thought or maybe a fishing email scam trying to get me to reveal personal details. Are you having a ¿@#%ing laugh? What is occurring here? Hace you sold off the domain to a large company?
    After the unacceptably short notice period given to migrate and multiply and having been treated this way would you really expect me to transfer to another name only for the same to happen again?
    Am happy now as have got own address and am in control of domain not just renting it. Also cheaper as I get 5 emails for the same price as 2 from another website hosting company.
    Avoid hover / Tucows see other google search reviews for reasons and ignore positive reviews written by company representatives.

     

Leave a Reply

 
